From the North

By Tawastian

Tricky lights

I saw a dream where I was walking in the streets of Moscow. Suddenly the city changed to St. Petersburg where I continued walking around without any aim. There was a dark opera house, many gloomy shop windows and an old man wandering in the streets. The man shouted if somebody could give him a coin or two but nobody heard him. The whole city was full of darkness but then it really darkened and the scene changed to St. Petersburg in 1940's.

There was a war in St. Petersburg and dark clouds were wearing the sky while the big bombers were flying in formations over the shady buildings. I think my brain was mixing different informations because St. Petersburg wasn't bombed fatally during WWII but in my dream it quite was. People ran all over the place when the grenades started to burst. There was shouting and crying in the air but then it was silent and the scene changed once again.

I found myself in a penthouse of an old tall apartment building. The flat was put in pieces and there was no tidy place to look at. I was looking down the streets of St. Petersburg from a big square window. The glass was broken but I was able to see the street and shapes of the other buildings well. No people nor any living soul was caught in my sight and I left the building and the whole city by walking away.

I walked to the countryside where it was still silent and where was no living creature anywhere close, certainly out of earshot. Then I saw an off-road vehicle which was driving leisurely when I hoisted my hand to make it stop. And it stopped. It was driven by a large-sized middle-aged Russian man who didn't understand any other languages apart from Russian. I asked him to drive me just somewhere and so he did.

I jumped off the car in Eastern Karelia where I continued walking without any aim. I saw countryside everywhere and just walked. After a while I saw something in the distance. At first it looked like a little town but when I reached it, I found it was town no more. It had been a town once but now it was only an area of mossy basisses and rotten buildings. I left the place with an empty mind and woke up.

Dreams can be such tricky sometimes. I've been booking them for few years now and this one, for example, was quite normal for me. Some people say they don't see dreams which is rather interesting because I see them all the time.

I won't be around for a little while since tomorrow I'll be heading to see my relatives in the South and then in the very North of Finland so that's why I'm wishing you all a Happy New Year even there's two days left of this year. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.