Think, try, share

By JonBusby

The High Street, Dedham

We had a visit to Dedham to try and grab a cuppa. Most places were shut so we went for drinks in a pub.

To all of you not familiar with Dedham, it is kind of the Cranford of the Essex/Suffolk border. Very picturesque (no pun intended) and in season can get quite touristy with its Constable connection and assortment of tea rooms and arts and craft places.

If you ever do go try visiting St Mary's parish church. It is a beautiful with wonderful stain glass that are brilliant. The sort of place you go in and feel quite humbled.

My blip is a bit off the wall. A picture of a street sign in Dedham. I liked the texture of the brick and the moss.

It could be any High Street, which got me wondering where the name High Street comes from so I Wikipediaed it. Where I come from, Newcastle, we tend to call the main street, Front Street.


Language. Gr8, 'innit?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.