just allan

By allan

Splash Bang Wallop

Fireworks on Belhaven beach, East Lothian. We went for a bracing walk after lunch to blow away the cobwebs. The tide was on the way out and we weren't all wearing wellies. I took my shoes and socks off, rolled up my trousers and cuddy-backed Duncan, Gordon and Katie over the last bit of the river from the bridge - numb toes!

The beach was much busier than usual, obviously a New Year walk is a popular idea. The surfers were out as usual and the local world-class kite surfer arrived whilst we were there. He was flying! We often see him from the house, but I've not seen him up close before. I was surprised that he stays in the shallow water away from the larger waves - today anyway.

Then we cut across the salt marsh for home and saw this celebration back by the bridge. What a good idea! I'll store up some fireworks for next year.

The start of a New Year and good riddance to the old. Here's to the future!

Some more pictures on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.