New Year's Day Lunch

First of all, a Happy New Year to all in Blip-land with special wishes for health and happiness in the year ahead.

Digitaldaze and I had a lovely dinner celebration last night which brought us niclely into the New Year without the out-and-out exuberance of previous Rio New Year celebrations! We slept earlier and better as a result!!

We've never seen Sao Paulo as quiet as it was today. It was that day in a blue-moon and we went off to Bar des Artes for lunch. This is the feel-good place that I was taken to by my company to help me say 'yes' to working in Brazil, and to where I, in turn, took DD when she came on her 'recce'! It really is hard to say 'no' to anything after a lunch here! And it has become our traditional first stop if we fly into Sao Paulo directly from Europe.

On my plate, starting at 10 o'clock, you can see puree of apple wth cinnamon, saffron rice with sultanas, farofa (flour, eggs and ham), feijoa (beans, brazilian style), normal veg., semolina, very reduced tomatoes, and filet mignon. The usual Saturday feijoada wasn't on today but I tried to get a Brazilian feel to my plate.

If anyone is interested, the wine is a Chilean Carmenere reserva from 2008. That grape fits very well in Chilean soil in my limited experience! Brazilian wine isn't much cop , but the Chilean ones travel the short distance nicely.

Time for a rest after so much hectic activity in the last few days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.