All that is beautiful

By sharob

Must. Make. Blanket.

I am teaching myself to crochet. My Gran used to do it and I remember just sitting at the end of her bed (no-one in normal circumstances was allowed to sit on her bed) just watching her crochet. She used to make crochet toys for me and my sister, I only managed to keep one of mine - a little Christmas decoration for the Christmas tree. Gran died in 1997 on the evening of her 70th birthday, 3 days before Christmas. She never really said much, I know she was pretty ill, I always remember her in a wheelchair, or in her stairchair or walking with sticks. The last time I saw her, I knew that it would be the last time. I made sure to look at her so that I could absolutely remember her face in many years .. and I do.

Anyway, I never got the chance to ask her to teach me so in her memory, I am teaching myself. A partworks magazine came out last year, I've been collecting it and am on issue 52 so I ought to begin working now. With each magazine, you receive a ball of wool which will be made into a square for a patchwork throw. This picture is of the balls of wool I've collected so far.

My aim is to teach my daughters how to crochet - it's a dying art and I want to pass something down to them, as I wish my Gran had passed it to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.