CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

'....and I'm feeling good'

Birds flyin' high you know how I feel
Sun in the sky you know how I feel
Breeze driftin' on by you know how I feel
Its a new dawn, its a new day, its a new life for me
yeah, its a new dawn its a new day its a new life for me ooooooooh
AND I'M FEELING GOOD


You may well know this song by Nina Simone, or more likely via dodgy tv ads. But I first heard it sung by a youthful Steve Winwood, who always gave it a stand-out performance when I saw Traffic play live countless times.

Well, today was a wholly different dawn from yesterday, with all the snow having departed and the sun's rays under-lighting scudding clouds, which were coming from the west once more, propelled by strong winds. Today's view, though similar in location to yesterday's snowy scene had the prophetic taint of the old rhyme '....red sky in the morning, shepherds warning'.

(There are many later citations of the saying in literature, including this from Shakespeare, in Venus & Adonis, 1593:
"Like a red morn, that ever yet betoken'd wreck to the seaman - sorrow to shepherds.")


The light however soon turned eerily yellowish by the time I had woken Helena and was drinking a strong brew in bed. Within another hour a rainstorm was here, seemingly for the first time since the cold weather began last year. The windows are still being washed now, and I will have to take Helena to work, or she will be soaked.

'....and I'm feeling good'

You can't keep a good feeling suppressed for long, if you let a small burst of sunlight in. It still seems to do the trick for me, 'after all these years', but that is a song by another maestro, T-Bone Burnett. I have had to play both of these tracks, now that they have come to my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.