just allan

By allan

Dream hoose

With nobody at home I went to the pictures after work. L'Illusioniste was playing at the Filmhouse and I queued for last-minute tickets. I sat with tears rolling down my cheeks for 90 minutes whilst Sylvian Chaumel's mastery of telling an intimate personal story laid over the vast vistas of Scotland was played out. Animation can get me that way. Usually things like Studio Gibli films, but also Hollywood ones. Shrek 3 was a flood, believe me.

After that, I was in a bit of a dream and rather in love with Edinburgh. It was cold, empty and wet. Perfect. I had an hour til the 9pm train so I rode through some of the film's scenery. From Lothian Road up Castle Terrace, down the Royal Mile to Holyrood at the foot of Arthur's Seat, then to Princes Street heading west, back along George Street heading east.

Other highlights today were a ride on The Bike Chain's Pugsley (thanks Mark!) and some travel shots. All iPhone shots so no competition winners, but here they are on Flickr.

One very sad thing today is that I found that Waterstones bookshop at Princes St East is closed forever. There is now no bookshop in easy reach of Waverley Station. What a terrible shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.