Clontarf sunset

When they said on Thursday that the new fridge would be delivered today, I must admit that I wondered if they perhaps hadn't factored in an extra day off because New Year's Day had fallen on a Saturday, but I needn't have worried. I got an early-morning text message telling me to expect delivery "between 11.00 am and 2.00 pm". Sure enough, the van pulled up and the grand echange of old for new took place before 1.00.

I'd stupidly expected that the delivery guys would unpack the new one and connect it up for me, but that was mere wishful thinking on my part. The other unexpected thing was the parting reminder that I should wait at least two hours before plugging in the new machine ("to let the gas settle"). I went ahead with the unpacking and got the fridge into position and cleaned out the interior. After that there was time for some daytime TV before heading out later on to do some shopping to stock it up.

It had been a while since I'd had a decent walk, so I combined a trip to the supermarket with a walk along the saefront at Clontarf. By the time I got there it was around 4.00 pm and the day was drwaing to a close. It was cold, but beautifully clear, and I was rewarded with quite a nice sunset.

Back home again, it was good to have a functioning fridge once again, but surprising to see how much space still remained free even after all the stuff I'd bought in the supermarket. The instruction sheet actually said to leave it 24 hours on its coldest setting before turning it down to normal operating level and only then putting food into it. I couldn't face another 24 hours without anything in a fridge, though, so I ignored that part.

At long, long last I've begun the catch-up process and have filled in part of the unsightly gap with some back-blipping --

Snow bed
Lonesome Dove
En route
Frozen alleyway
Set for a thaw
Should have shown the thaw...
Waving Santa
Remains
Tiramisu [Remains II]

Only fourteen days catch-up still to do ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.