secret garden

By freespiral

Abandoned buildings 5:the mansion

The trail of the abandoned buildings is definitely making me bolder, both in the English sense (brave) and the Irish (cheeky). A bright morning so more exploration was necessary. I headed off to Cul na Long (nook of the ships) or Durrus Old Court as it is usually called. I had lurked around the outside a week previously but there was no way I could clamber over the barbed wire or wade through the undergrowth so I had to be polite and ask. There was a long very pot holed drive up to the New Court - a magnificent 18C building which is being very thoroughly and expensively restored by the new owner who was in his garden talking to a man about water. The new owner has the glorious name of Jim Devine and was from County Tyrone with an accent to match. He was very amenable and off I went to blip the Old Court.

This is an amazing building and should really be protected as there are only two other castles/mansions like it in the county. It was built around 1610-40 for Teige na Muclach, one of the McCarthy clan. It was built in Jacobean style and although it now has no roof and is heavily covered in ivy, much of the walls still remain. This view is through the massive archway into what I assume was once the great hall. Right at the end is the hood of a huge fireplace, still open - I peeped right up. For a view of the outside look here.

I wanted to take a peek into the 18C building too but thought that might be pushing my luck.

A friend has asked me whether I'd be interested in selecting some photos to be made into cards, to sell in her shop. I think I would :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.