tobeon

By tobeon

88 Miles an hour!

Just as BBC Stargazing Live finished, the sky clears!!!

It might not look like much but that blurry bright blob is so far away that it took a little over 42 minutes for the light to get from there to my iphone camera. It's so big that it could fit the whole Earth inside it 1,321 times and is traveling at roughly 29,000 mph through space.

Yes that's right! It's Jupiter, along with three of it's moons: Io (top) Ganymede (bottom right) and Europa (bottom left).

This photo doesn't show as much detail (or any) as the one I took yesterday (which I didn't get to blip as I had already posted but here it is on flickr instead) but I can't helped but to be amazed that I was able to take any photo of another World regardless of how fuzzy and overexposed it is!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.