The Icing on the Cake...

More please!

WOW!!! Such an informative day! It took me right back to high school photo class, f/stops and shutter speeds. I really found the power point lecture beneficial, however, when we went out for our 2 hour+ safari, that is when the fun began.

We were down by the marina, and the sky gave way to partly cloudy, which was wonderful. We had to re-meter and change our aperture to fit the conditions, which is the 'hands on' I needed. By the last hour of class we were all shooting manually. Some of you are saying, duh, but I will try manual, then shift back to priority as the frustration builds. Val & Stephanie explained how and why and made us set the camera one way, take the shot, look at it, then reset, showing the difference between changing your ISO and your aperture, shutter speed and how to meter and on what. He said to (Val is a guy) meter on the bright, change your shutter and shoot, then meter on the dark, change your shutter and shoot. It was great.

I want more!!!

The icing on the cake came at sunset, when 75 photographer all quieted themselves, the wonderful click of a shutter depressed was all you could hear. Everyone melted into their own little world. I walked, as quick as I could, across the street, crouched down and shot. I love something or foreground in my sunset shots. The weeds seemed to be what I needed. There was no post production to this photo, except some minor cropping. The sky was so dramatic! This was all from learning the functions of my camera, what they do and how to use them. Now if I can remember it all tomorrow...that it another story.

Val Westover is informative and hands on. The website is this!!!! They do a horse drive through Three Forks, Montana. I would love to be part of it. They take photographers of every speed, and show them the ropes. This is that link to the Horse Ranch! Then I could go visit my Mom & my Tom on the way back! :D

I have to go to work tomorrow, back to reality. I am so glad I did this. It was fantastic. It would be a joy to do it every day, but for now, when I can is WONDERFUL!!!

More please!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.