Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Some birds on a wire

Today has been grey, gloomy and positively dank. Pre-blipfoto I wouldn't have dreamt of taking a camera out with me in such conditions. But dogs have to be walked, and as I don't really like doing indoor shots, the camera went too.

Despite my pessimism, I ended up with two shots that I liked - a rather traditional portrait of a male mute swan (which can be seen here) or a rather more experimental shot of starlings on a wire between two pylons, waiting to go to roost. The family consensus was that I should be daring and use the starlings.

Originally the sky was somewhat darker, but I increased the light levels and contrast in Photoshop to make a more definite silhouette. I just wish I could have recorded the sound of the starlings too - an amazing cacophony of whistles and chattering.

And if anyone is wondering about the title - it's a reference to one of my favourite songs, Bird on a Wire by Leonard Cohen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.