Great Chalford

The sun came out today and I became slightly giddy to be reunited with it after so long. I set off in the direction of Bradford upon Avon but never reached there because I not only detoured but also made several stops along the way to respond to photo opportunities.
My first stop was at Broughton Gifford, which has a large green beside a picturesque pub called the Bell On The Common. There was a football match going on, which I photographed, but as my interest in sport is absolutely nil, it was a tree in the foreground that became the subject of the picture.
Then I took a side road which took me through Great Chalford. I have visited Great Chalford Manor several times in the past and especially like the views of it from the road, with the moat in front of it. There was some great lighting happening in the so-called golden hour and I like the way the light blends the elements in this picture. What idiot parked their car in the corner of the picture, though? Oh.
Instead of continuing to Bradford and arriving at dusk, I turned left and drove through Holt to Staverton, where I got pictures of the Avon beside the Trapeze building (formerly the Nestlé factory), and on to Melksham for pictures of the Avon there, and for some groceries shopping.

Lens: Pentax 16-45mm

Absolutely better Blown Up

Alternatives:
Football on the Common
Great Chalford #1
Great Chalford #2
Great Chalford #3

One Year Ago: Smokey (with a picture of Katherine Parkinson on a scooter behind him)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.