Nastia's Slow Little Days

By Anastasia

The Symphony in the Blue Beyond

" In the depths of the deep blue sea,
there's a blue as blue as me,
where a quiet symphony plays for the lonely.

I could just let it all go,
sink down to the world below,
where I don't breathe, but I don't know
'cause I'm breathless.

When it's love,
it will rain sometimes.
When it's love, it will pour.
Pour.

I don't where my lover went,
but I know that he took the rent,
and I know that he went and spent all my loving.

And I'm not rich, but I don't care;
I'll find that boy anywhere.
I'll walk the land, fly the air, and tread water.

When it's love,
it will rain sometimes.
When it's love, it will pour.
Pour.

If the moon could sing a song,
with the symphony in the blue beyond,
they'd tell me he was really gone forever.

When it's love,
tt will rain sometimes.
When it's love, it will pour.

When it's love,
It will rain sometimes.
When it's love, it will pour.
Pour, pour, pour.

It will pour.
It will pour.
It will pour. "

- "Pour," Lori McKenna


...


I read some post earlier in the week about creative and relatively simple ways of experimenting with photography. There was something in there about using nylons to filter lights at night and create large blurs of light. So I thought I'd try the trick in the daytime. I grabbed a pair of beige tights and wound them around the lens, then started shooting self-portraits. A bit of post-processing and quite a few hours later -- voilà!

I also took a bunch more photos of the holiday lights since it just snowed the last couple days, before getting warm again and melting away a bunch of the snow. Or, more accurately, most of the snow melted pretty soon after falling because it's been a bit warmish. The holiday decorations in the building have already been taken down (and it only happened in the last few days) so I didn't want to be caught empty-handed with my snow-and-light photo project. My shots are mostly crummy, though, so I'll probably give it another shot tomorrow. Nobody takes down holiday lights on Sundays, right?

Also today, I went and saw Black Swan with the roommate. Afterward, checked out the new ShopRite. Its awful name is quite misleading. Pretty decent interior design and ambiance. It surprised me a heck of a lot. Then had backwards dinner, of mint and chocolate waffle cone ColdStone dessert, followed by the main course, back at home, of reheated lentil-rice-etc. combination. There's seems to be something lacking in my life... perhaps an absence of activity on my part? Oy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.