Bob's Photo of the Day

By WetCoastBob

Focus Test

The last while I have not been happy with the focus of my images.

I am using a 25 yr old Nikkor f2.5 105mm on my new Nikon D3000. The lens is legendary for its sharpness and I have had great results with it. I must use the lens in manual mode and do not get any information re exposure.

My focus is entirely manual. The problem is the matt glass on new cameras is not built to accommodate manual focus. In the "old days" there was a "half-moon" surrounded by a raster which assisted the manual focus. This camera has an indicator which tells when you are in focus, but I have found ( in my opinion ) it is less than accurate.

Today's blip is done to test the accuracy of the indicator. It is taken at open aperture. Very obviously the focus is on the matchbox where the indicator said it would be.

This totally confuses me because the frost on the Geum Leaf I did a few days ago looks out of focus. I took 3 images of the leaf bracketing the focus and none are 100% in focus.

Anybody have any ideas?



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.