BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

The Night Owl's Daylight Blues

I'm not keen on cornflakes
Or catching the early train
I can't bear to hear the breakfast news
Alarm clocks are in humane

I would rise at 6 p.m.
If I could have my way
But I'm not free to fly by night
I'm forced to commute by day

So I got the Night Owl's Daylight
The Night Owl's Daylight
I got the Night Owl's Daylight Blues


I wasn't born to see the sun
A night owl's what I am
But sad to say, 5 times a week
I rise at 5 a.m.

I join the rest of the rat race
Set off to earn my pay
Cos I'm not free to fly by night
I'm forced to trudge by day

So I got the Night Owl's Daylight
The Night Owl's Daylight
I got the Night Owl's Daylight Blues


I could moan more but it'll wait
I'm running fast but still I'm late
I ask you why I bother, brother
To live a life I hate

So I hope you'll have some sympathy
In the light of an owl's dismay
I can't afford to fly by night
I have to work by day

So I got the Night Owl's Daylight
The Night Owl's Daylight
I got the Night Owl's Daylight Blues


Copyright Bernard Young 2011

I'd better confess. I expect there are quite a lot of you do have to do this. My job actually means I don't. Not an a regular basis anyway, though I do sometimes leave home very early to visit schools and sometimes spend more time travelling than working with the children. But I am a Night Owl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.