The Twelfth Night

[backblip]

So I was moaning on Monday about having to work, while the rest of the UK were enjoying a long New-year weekend. In hindsight I was actually quite happy to be compensated with today off work instead - I had a lazy morning after a wonderful supper at Rosie's last night, she had cooked what was possibly the nicest chilli con carne I have ever tasted. Prior to that, I had been coerced into joining a couple of work lads for a beer on Wednesday as I was leaving work and heading to my first exercise class of the year. If you had been there, you would have seen my arm being twisted as I tried to convince them that I was determined to go to the gym and sub-consciously convinced myself that the beer was actually more beneficial after the day I had had. To cut a long story short, (it took all of 2 minutes to convince me) I joined them for a beer or two and then went straight to the aforementioned supper. Rumour has it that despite only going for a quick couple of jars themselves, they were out until nearly midnight. One had his daughter's 4th Birthday the following day and another was due to be driving out of the city for a long weekend with his family.

I enjoyed my lie in anyway! Some Aussie friends were hosting a brunch so that tied in very nicely. A bracing walk was called for afterwards before I retreated to the warmth of my flat to do away with the deccies for another year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.