dogwithnobrain

By dogwithnobrain

Are Also On The Faces Of People Going By.

Do you ever have that clarity in your head?

That clear thought, that tells you, that you are but a cog in a massive wheel.

Today, I took a step outside the office. From my windowI could see the blue sky, and the sunshine, and for a moment I wanted to stand in it and absorb as much sunshine as I could.

I merely stepped off the doorstep, and looked to my right. Cars, people, traffic, shops, signs, street lamps, and beyond, water and an island. It never stops.

Up and down the street there were hundreds of faces going about their business. People in windows across the road, people at windows across the backs of the offices. Everywhere. But no one was looking at me.

I could look in the windows and watch people at work. I could look at flats, and see members of a family in one room, and others in another, all going about their own business, oblivious to each other, and completely oblivious to me.

It was lovely to enjoy; everyone else's moments.

And my day continued like that. I stepped into people's thoughts at the station, and as I walked home through the park in the dark, I dipped into the warmth of houses not yet darkened by curtains, and smiled at children playing and responding to their parents shouts. Wondered about the re-organisation of book shelves. Thought about what TV programmes were being watched, and thought about the conversations that were being had all over, and not just in my wee space.

Sometimes, the thought of it all happening at once, is too much for my brain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.