Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Socrates' Ibis

"Beware the barrenness of a busy life."

- Socrates

Things are indeed very busy, with kids, work, blogging/twittering, failing to find time for the guitar ... But I think I would disagree with Socrates to an extent. If one gets overwhelmed by unthinking busyness, then yes, it would probably be barren, but a busy life doesn't have to be barren.

In any case, today's photo is a step out of a busy life; out on home visits I got the social worker to pull over at a little park/creek thing. I was planning to photograph the ducks there, but spotted these Australian White Ibis (Threskiornis molucca) and took a few shots of them. I also took a few of a swamp-hen (a dusky moor-hen, I think) having a great old bath in the water, but they all came out crappy and fuzzy.

So we'll go with the Ibis - which apparently was for a time called the "Sacred Ibis". So there you go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.