not seeing straight

By jaybroek

escape

it's Thursday so it must be... Manchester. The one saving grace offered by three days away from home with work was that blipping from these exotic locations might offer me inspiration and variety.

Truth is, its mainly given me unrelentingly grey skies, sore feet and an overwhelming desire to get back to the comfort of home and the bountiful charm of Edinburgh.

So Manchester... city of my student years back in the late 80s of Madchester. What's changed? Afflecks Palace is still there and Piccadilly still has an undercurrent of potential violence. There is still a swagger - although with narrower trousers and a slight umbrella hunch.

The narrow lanes between Victorian warehouses is where I finally found this; maybe it was my own thoughts of escape that drew me to the shot.

PS - I did escape too... this post comes from bucolic Oxford. Let's see what the morning brings here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.