Ausmossie

By ausmossie

Favourite Restaurant Crew And GUO BAO ROU (inset)

This is the crew from my first and favourite restaurant in China. I have been going there for over 2 years now. It was right around the corner from where I first lived when I arrived.

My very first night in China, I just picked it out of a few just around the corner and walked in. I had no CHinese at all and they had no English. They handed me a menu (which I turned upside down to show I coudln't read it) and then I tried to get them to order something for me.. After failing that, I just pointed to something someone was eating and motioned for them to "give me one of those".

After that, I went in there almost every night and ordered one of two dishes. (Yu xiang rou si OR guo bao rou). As best as my non-existent Chinese went, we got along GREAT. I hade no idea why the lady running the place wanted my phone number, but I gave it to her.

When my son visited me in July 2007, I took him there to meet the crew. I took pictures with the staff and promptly forgot about it.. The other day, I got a call from a Chinese person jabbering about something. I had no idea who it was or what they were jabbering about until I heard "Guo Bao Rou" (the name of my most ordered dish and also the picture in the inset) and I realised it was her calling me. I went there today and she wanted the pics of her and my son.

A really sweet lady and crew. I will develop the pics and take them over next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.