Northern Exposure

By Northern

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

Have spent the last few days traversing the country to visit family. No internet access and I found myself on a bit of a blip break as we were too busy catching up with folk to take pics. (It has been quite refreshing really, but I'm itching to get back to a pic a day.)

Hogmanay was spent at my folk's house near Inverness. A few neighbours round to bring in the new year but nothing too rowdy. The boys stayed up for the bells, Campbell complete in kilt. But once he sussed out no one was up for doing Strip the Willow, he decided he would rather go to sleep.

After a very late breakfast we went for a walk in the woods in Reelig Glen, near Beauly. Fabulous winter's day. Fingers of mist creeping through the trees and a wonderful damp chilly atmosphere. I love forests at this time of year, without the leafy green of summer the amazing undergarments of moss and lichens turn the trees to strange and wonderful shapes.

The woods contain a Douglas fir called Dughall Mor, apparently the tallest tree in Britain. As I struggled to take a pic that you could see even the middle and the top, never mind the whole thing, I'll happily take their word for it.

Hope everyone has had a great start to the year. Best wishes to you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.