Buckley Hughes World

By buckleyhughes

Wood choppin'

So, today some old friends came to visit, and bless 'em if they didn't bring a boot full of seasoned firewood. They chopped down a few trees and can't burn any of the wood because the silly fools haven't got a fire!

In return for us feeding, watering and entertaining them for a weekend we get a load of fantastic beech, ready to burn. Except it was still in tree-shaped pieces, so Mrs BH and visitor A spent a jolly half hour or so wielding axes and splitting the wood into burnable chunks. Myself and visitor B admired from afar (me being still slightly poorly, visitor B looking after me).

Trouble is, it's kind of tricky taking photos of such split-second action - this is the best shot I could get, and if I'd been a half-second quicker I might have got the two halves of tree being cleaved in two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.