Versatile Toy

This fort was made for me by my Grandfather when I was quite a small boy. He was an incredibly resourceful man and made many things in his life, but by the time he made these he was quite elderly and it can't have been easy.

There are opening doors with a pole to lock them closed, a well, a bar for tying up horses, and originally there was a flag above the door and a gun on the platform at the front. I don't know if I'll find those pieces. I'm pretty sure the cowboys and indians that came with it are long gone.

It has served many roles beyond that of wild west stockade. It has been a castle for teddy bears, a base for space lego, and a hangar for a lego airport amongst many other things.

My parents were tidying recently and trying to make space in their loft, but I couldn't let them throw it away... It needs just a little TLC, but it has wonderful memories associated with it. I remember receiving it at Christmas at my grandparents house in Inverness, as well as some of the many games it has formed a part of.

After two days of looking backwards (see yesterday's blip) I'll try to do something more current tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.