wildinlailand

By wildinlailand

Lambs tails

One thing I learnt to savour as my time a mountain guide was the appreciation of the subtle changes in the seasons. So I've been on the look out for the first tell tail signs of spring. I know it's still January and there is time for more snow and sub zero temps but the seasons are turning. On the Cuerden Valley park where I take my lunchtime 'wake up and shake up' walk in some of the more sheltered spots the Hazel Catkins are opening up which shower a delicate mist of yellow pollen in the air to be attracted by the tiny wee pink flowers on the hazel stems. Take a look next time you pass one.

On the park there are some fine woodland paths and a couple of years ago this section was cut back and coppiced close to the ground. The regular park users were very unhappy to see the wanton destruction of the park. It does seem a bit harsh at the time but two years on you would hardly know the difference except the hazels are much stronger and the woodland plants have increased because of the extra light

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.