dogwithnobrain

By dogwithnobrain

On this I swear, Just promise you'll always be ..

I accompanied my Si on a Scouty thing tonight.

Scouts were being Inducted, Awarded, Celebrated, and it was to be done in the auspicious surrounds of Dundonald Castle. To be honest, I had absolutely no interest in the badges, or neckies, or woggles, I wanted to see the Castle. Safely.

Dundonald is a little village over the hill, (oft referred to in my Blips). The children of Dundonald fall into the Ward of Troon for Education purposes, and attend Marr College along with the Children of Troon, Muirhead, Barassie and Loans.

Since forever, there has been a "division" shall we say, which lays between Dundonald and those on the other side of the hill. At school, there was a recognisable split between the "Duntoi", and Troon, which is easily summed up in this story.

I was at a Ladies night with my sister, and as we sat enjoying the entertainment, I was conscious of a vision sitting opposite me, staring at me. I was confused, for, looking towards it, I presumed it to be male, and this being a Ladies night, was perturbed as to this male presence.

The vision leaned towards me and said "I ken You".

I looked closely, and I said, "I have no idea where from".

"I wis in yer class, Ahm Betty".

I looked closely and realised with some amazement that I did actually see some semblence of "Betty" in there. (Being where we were, there was only one Betty this could be).

"I didnae speak to you et schule, becoz you were wan o they, wan o they, wan o they..." she struggled to find the words....

My sister interjected, "Educated ones".

"Nah", snarls Betty, "Ffffing Troon Snobs".

We were then subjected to a diatribe on the fact that the people of Troon had taken over a gift to the people of Dundonald. Marr College was in fact Dundonald's School, and not Troon's and they had no right to it.

"Why didn't they build it in Dundonald then? " I posed?

"Ffff off", Seys Betty. "Anyhoos, wit you daeing wi yersel these days?".

"Me, I'm a lecturer in Economics at the Technical College".

Says Betty, "Aft, I might have Fffing known it".

"And you? What do you do?" I asked, desperately trying to maintain my composure.

"Ah wurk in the tinning factory".

"Great", I says, "good honest labour, do you enjoy it? ".

"You Ya Snob, I didnae like you at School and I don't like Ya now, away ye go wi yer poxy job"

Ahem. Hence my reason for not being particularly drawn to the delights of Dundonald. But tonight was a nice opportunity to get a look inside a castle, which I have wandered around outside, and looked at on occassion but never been inside.

I had a good poke around tonight, but sadly, a fuse had blown! Flashes spoiled the effect of the candle lit castle, but I thought this photo summed up the picturesque quality of the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.