Framer's Intent...

By Scrybe

This Is Not A Bus Blip

But it should be. I should have been out today. Clearly*, I wasn't. I couldn't find my bus pass. This makes the second bus pass I've lost in under a week. Not good. Only, this one I'm pretty sure is somewhere in the house. So I may at least not scream in frustration at yet more wasted moneys. I am a total utter plank.

I'm still ruminating on photographic things. I also deigned to dust off my copy of Merleau-Ponty's The Primacy of Perception. Further, I even read some of it. Only the contents page, mind, we wouldn't want me getting too carried away here. To check it did indeed include his writing on the Phenomenology of Art. It does. Tomorrow, I may even begin reading it.


I also spent a fair bit of today (post-bus-missing-frustration) checking out this. Some images by Liverpool's Peter Hagerty. I think they're new. I'm not sure. Regardless of date, they're fascinating. They've been in my brain since I saw them earlier. Captivating, really captivating. Do check them out. And give them some minutes, it's worth it.


I must do some writing to figure out the thinking I've been doing. It's the only way I can function. Also been spending a fair bit of time thinking about Stephen Shore's comments in On The Nature of Photographs, and some lectures I've seen him give via the web. Interesting.


CUNNING PLAN ALERT! - I expect to be able to reveal more details very very soon. I'm thinking Monday may actually work. We've had some good and recent developments, largely owing to chance encounters with people I didn't know could help. We may have a brilliant venue for it secured very soon. Then, I shall be able to reveal all. Either way, by Monday I should be able to reveal further snippets, so stay tuned for that!

As you can tell, I shot my foot as an emergency blip. Yes, shot. In this instance, I think that an appropriate descriptor. The only "artistic merit" I can possibly try to argue for in this image is my whack attempt to make the foot shadow merge with the statue head. Kind of. For no reason. The black and white conversion is also nothing but a vain and vague attempt (that is failing rather terribly, as you can see) to disguise my crap photo as something "artistic". I think "autistic" might be more apt. Sorry.







* Yes, I know, I actually could have just gone out and failed miserably to photograph anything better than this homemade foot and statue image. But, really, do you think that likely? Look again at this image, and answer honestly now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.