Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

See the light

See the light images. I couldn't choose a fav although "Dino light" ("1) and that first coy smile (#11 here) just melt me. This, best large. SOOC on the blog other than the 1st.

It has been an extremely rough 24hrs and torture for Reuben. Nature has a craving for equilibrium, for bringing things back from highs and lows, for neutrality. I've been reminded of this whilst spending time with Callum this morning. And so I share 16 frames. It's blessed countenance. Callum all naturally lit in his crib backlight by the south facing window. Natural light so rapidly lifts my spirits.

Whilst my head has been full of topical medications for Reuben's severe diaper rash brought on by diarrhea brought on my antibiotics (which we've had to discontinue - no choice) brought on by his UTI and ear infection, this morning I took some time out with Callum as today Reuben's in the hospital for a white count test (down from 46 to 8 - hurrah!). We enjoyed a lovely shower together which brought on a quiet sleepiness two minutes after this as he asked for his bed. Can this really be the same boy I ask again who would wail at the thought of going anywhere near bed. Is it because hippo, musk ox, owl, gator, elephant, rhino and mouse are in with you?

Thanks to Blip and FB, we have some new remedies to try. In the NICU, the nurses would make their own paste concoctions as the tiny premies and newborns were being assaulted with antibiotics and their skin had no defense.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.