BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Metalman

I've got nerves of steel
An iron will
I'm as hard as nails
Invincible!

You can call me Metalman

I don't catch robbers
I don't stop crime
I get so weary
I have to take my time

OK, you can call me Metal (fatigue) man

You won't catch me flying
I weigh a ton
Instead of running
I lumber along

Yes, you can call me Heavy Metalman

I've got eyes that shine
A love that's strong
A heart of gold
A silver tongue

My girlfriend calls me Precious

But you'd better call me Metalman


Copyright Bernard Young , from Shouting at the Ocean, Hands up Books, 2009
Illustration by my pal and poet (also featured in the book)Philip Waddell

Note: Had to resort to blipping an existing poem today. Seem to have lost the inclination to come up with anything brand new. Mind elsewhere for a few days perhaps (but somewhere nice).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.