St Andrew Square

This was the day of the List.

Everything I had to do this morning was notated in an organised column, so that not a moment was wasted.Things didn't go smoothly.

1) Phone a friend's husband to arrange a visit to her and her new hip in hospital.
She's getting home today so visit cancelled.
2) Visit to the bank
Too early- Bank shut until 9:45am
3) Visit local post office to buy a parcel bag for sending a gift from my friend of many
talents to daughter #5.
The only bags they have left would fit a baby elephant.
4) Visit John Lewis to try and match wool.
No match, but given the phone no of the Aberdeen store which might have what
I'm looking for.
5) Telephone John Lewis, Aberdeen and landline voice tells me it doesn't
recognise the number. Try twice more checking the no. on the internet. Try
phoning on my mobile with the same no. and get through. Very strange.

The operator tries the haberdashery department but gets no reply. He takes my
name and phone no and says someone will phone me back within 2hours.

So far so bad, my morning is descending into chaos.

I wait for the phone call and nothing happens..... until... just when the 2 hours is up, and I've given up hope, the phone rings and a lovely lady from Aberdeen tells me that yes they do have the wool and she will send it down to me.

I'm ecstatic. The Bank can wait , I'll visit my friend with the new hip when she's home, I've found another parcel bag and I've got my wool!

My day has suddenly brightened.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.