Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Hard Freeze

I have a bunch of "baby" cactus in my back yard. When we have hard freezes we have to cover even mature plants, not just my little babies.

It's the coldest streak of February weather in Southern Arizona since 1956.

Last night was the warmest of the next three nights. The low was 25F.

The largest cactus I have in my backyard is the one you see in the foreground, a prickly pear. It's about one foot tall and two feet wide. The others are very small. I planted them three years ago from very tiny cuttings.

The light blankets and towels are a PITA to take off, put on and store because they are just loaded with needles. I have to use heavy work gloves to handle them. I forgot last night. I paid the price. Ouch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.