Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

With Woody

Well, we finally got back to school today! Both schools, both boys on good form. When I dropped Reuben off at the back gate, he ran in with a dance and I could hear teachers and kids saying "Reuben!".

At school with Callum during the Parent & Me time before Circle Time, before the kids make their own way in free play, I had a little break down with teacher Belinda, just letting it all out, cathartic really a good cry isn't it? She reminded me I'm safe here. We quite often get Mama tears here too: each family has their own challenges to face, whether on the autism spectrum, CP, medical, physical, developmental or premie.

I know I absolutely need to be out doing things like this. It makes me feel a little more worthwhile, part of a community. Two years on, UCLA early intervention school for kids with disabilities, Reuben's old school and where Callum is now the role model (I know, smiles at that hey) has been a second home to me. I'm glad that we're now doing 3 days a week there, even with the additional expense as he's a paying student. The families get to stay here for 18 months or an additional few months if enrolled at a year. We found out about the programme through Reu's former PT, Carrie as the funding bodies do not make a point of promoting this 50 year programme. Too bad some families miss out simply by not being informed. I make it my point to mention it to everyone I meet who would benefit. Today a new family in CHARGE family got in touch from the NICU. I know the challenges and tears they will face. I would like to visit and help them.

Lovely birthday party for Victoria, sister to Alexander, Callum's class pal as her mum just knew it would be the best place for it, even if Victoria herself is not a student there.

PS: Look at the thumbnail last year. Reuben came home from intensive care! Back then if I hadn't taken a pic at the end of the day due to shear exhaustion from sleeping in the hospital beside him on rotation, I'd quickly shoot on my iMac's Photo Booth when I got back.
PPS: Bedtime and have just dealt with a big scary choking incident from Reu. He went blue but I believe more from fear and holding his breath than being unable to breath. This happened whilst he was licking a cracker in the bedroom whilst I stood beside him getting his PJs. He'd put the whole thing in his mouth. Certain unmentionables ran through my head during the incident.
PPPS: Think Woody got left behind. Callum had a run and graze shortly after this and we only have the hat now. I guess Woody'll be looking for his hat, again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.