Makes You Think

Actually, I think I want to stop thinking about the weather. It changes too much and too quickly around here for us (morning consisted of inch or so of snow, followed by blue sky and sunshine, followed by wind, then wind and rain, then rinse and repeat for the remainder of the day until the thunder and lightning came along at tea-time).

After talking about colour-photocopying twenty pounds yesterday then reading this BBC News story that mentions how 'hedge fund manager' (banker) David Tepper earned £2.5bn in 2009 I thought about that for a bit. I thought it was hard to even imagine what 2,500,000,000 pounds would look like. So I got the calculator out and worked out, based on the copying speed of the colour copier and this amount of money, how long it would take to produce that little pile. It works out that, working 24 hours non-stop it would take 1 year and 48 days to print that amount. And that's not accounting for the interest over that same period. That's scary.

Even scarier though was the GROUPCALL text I received at lunchtime from Heather and Euan's school. It said a pupil had 'fell' and that his parents were with him. The fact that it ended by saying counselling would be provided for any pupil requiring it was a bit of a worry. Then, fifteen minutes later, another GROUPCALL text to say no other parent should be worried. That didn't particularly help. I managed to contact Heather who filled us in on what had happened. At some point a young lad from Euan's year had fell sure enough. And where had he fell from?

From just about exactly where I took this shot a couple of weeks back.

Now, that DID make me think.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.