Five things

By fivethings

A right pair

1. A sneezing, spluttering, windy and rainy start to the day made better by carrying my new award into the office. Lots of congratulations and stories to tell.

2. Another meeting with my colleagues that reminds me what an exceptional group of people I happen to work with.

3. A surprise visit from Emma and a brief catch up. Noticing how lovely and well she looks, how much motherhood suits her; healthy, relaxed and happy.

4. Getting through the day with a Big. Fat. Hangover. Making it home, coming in out of the rain and the dark and the storm and finding a Friday night.

5. No cooking tonight just Stefano and his pair of pizzas with some fizz. Saying out loud that what I really want is a feature length BBC4 documentary about a strand of music that I vaguely like but don't know that much about. And lo and behold a Fleetwood Mac night was starting. So now the air is filled with music my Dad would have loved and stories about him trying to teach Douglas and I about Albatross and the musical genuis of Stevie Nicks. I love a Friday night when I think about George because he loved a Friday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.