A Dog's Dinner

By G

The Ecstasy and The Agony

I'v spent the day trying to make better scans.

The big idea is to take considered photographs with the medium format camera - understated, subtle colours and quiet.

The problem is that your forget how difficult it is to take decent images with a manual film camera

Your exposure has to be exact and I've discovered that's easier said than done, your focus has to be accurate not easy and you have to be confident that the lab can do a good job.

Well I'm sorry to say my negatives have water marks, roller marks and even emulsion damage. So I have to fine another lab that takes more care.

Then there's the scanning. Everything and I mean everything has to be continually cleaned and dusted.

....and the result. Well less than satisfying but I suppose it's all about re-learning skills I used to have. So with that in mind, I popped over to Calumet and bought more film, more wet and dry tissues than you can shake a stick and a decent micro cloth.

Onward and upward - it'll be worth it in the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.