Taste Life Twice

By jillisahope

AWP Bookfair Madness

This is one small fraction of the wonderful madness that is the AWP Bookfair, which spilled from room to room with booky booths as far as the eye could see.

The stack of books I'm coming home with includes:

A Red Cherry on a White-Tiled Floor, poems by Maram Al-Massri, translated by Khaled Mattawa (I was reading this over dinner last night and I LOVE these poems)

The Skeleton and the Crow, poems by Seido Ray Ronci

Wedding Day, poems by Dana Levin

Slow Fire, poems by Pamela Alexander

The Ginkgo Leaf, poems by Arthur Sze

World's End, poems by Pablo Neruda, translated by William O'Daly (who is not my favorite translator of Nerdua, but this is the first Neruda book I've seen in years that I don't already own a translation of)

All of the above are published by Copper Canyon Press, which continues to be my favorite source for finding fantastic new and new-to-me poets.

A copy of Five Points journal, since I attended a reading by their writers yesterday, including the fab poet Kim Addonizio

A copy of H.O.W. (Helping Orphans Worldwide), a literary journal the publishes fiction and nonfiction "while giving a voice to those suffering in silence worldwide."

And finally, one deliciously beautiful broadside (also produced by Copper Canyon) of the poem "Six Kinds of Gratitude" by Dan Gerber. Copper Canyon's broadsides are literally the thing I look forward to most each year at the AWP conference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.