Everyday Sfinx

By Sfinx

Fathership

When moving we find lots of stuff in the drawers and corners, as you know! I found among else an old picture created of matches by my father, who died at the age of 87 in 1999.

My father had a tough beginning in his life as he and his mother was abandoned by his father before he was born! She was quite poor and didn?t manage to raise him by herself at that time. He thus had to live with his grandmother and grandfather in his early life! At the age of four he went with his cousin on his first day at school! A terrible thing happened that day and my father was pushed down a long stair, and crushed his hip! This was 1916 and there was no prostheses then! Besides his grandparents would not have had that kind of money!

So Ragnar had to live as a handicapped, lame on one leg! Thereby he had to choose a sedentary occupation and became a shoemaker! I know he always talked about the sea and sailing and I think he would have gone to sea if the accident hadn´t happened

This proud schooner (?), which unfortunately isn´t dated, I think was an expression of his dreams of the seven seas that I think he carried with him all his life!

Have always thought he and I was quite different, yet self being older I see more and more resemblances! If he had the chance to get the same level of education as have, then we might be quite alike!

This assignment blip is a tribute to you Ragnar, my Father (who nearly throw me out in the 60:ies when I grove my hair long), you had many really though challenges in your life and did in spite of these manage really well! I love you and hope you have a nice time sailing through the universe at this time!




(Tomorrow morning I am of to Jyväskylä in Finland for a few days of conference! See you later, then!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.