Not every day

By ppatrick

Tak' the high road...

This magnificent stone bridge carries the West Coast mainline from London to Glasgow across the River Ribble at Preston. The line is electric now, and trains travel at a steady 125mph when all is well, but the Victorian civil engineering seems well up to the task. (Well, obviously they don't do 125mph on this bridge, or they'd never stop at Preston. I'm sure you know what I mean.)

Caught this on an impromptu walk this afternoon, pleased with myself having completed final revisions on two journal papers in two days. A brisk wind but mild air, no hint of spring but winter sensibly fading. From my flat I cross Fishergate (the main shopping street), through Winckley Square (see 28 January) into Avenham Park, then cross the Ribble and walk along the opposite bank. When I've had enough I cross at another bridge and walk back. If only everything were as simple...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.