Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Sweet scented flower...

It's been one of those bitty days, which feel busy, but when you look back you wonder what you've actually achieved!! A trip to Sainsbury's wasn't an exciting start. The recent high winds had torn part of the roof off, so I suppose that was a bit of minor interest.

While I was out Pete saw a flock of waxwings fly past the house. According to a nearby birder's blog there are about 40 quite close to us, so I decided to take the dogs for a walk round the streets in the vain hope of finding them.

I soon realised this was likely to be a fruitless search. The area where they've been seen is complicated and the chance of finding their whereabouts minimal.The gale had also gathered force again, so even if I had found them, I doubt whether I would have managed a good photograph.

So it was back to the garden for a blip - I think I should have started a series caled early sprng flowers! This is Viburnum bodnatense, a sweetly scented shrub first seen here. It's now pretty much in full bloom and looks really lovely. Overnight the front garden has suddenly sprouted blooms of Iris reticulata which may be blipped in due course!

On my walk round I went past our local Cromwellian stately home, Thorpe Hall, which is now a Sue Ryder hospice. I took an alternative blip of one of the eagles on their gate posts which can be found here.,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.