CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Remembering the 'Mac an t-Saoir'

I have been flat out all day, working that is, not horizontal. Met a new client who rang for help last night. Tonight was the Grants committee, where some money was approved for a photographic project about Federico Garcia Lorca, linking Stroud and Spain, and the Spanish Civil War period. I look forward to seeing it.

Camera has been with me all day, and remained unused all day. I took off my scarf, laid it over my bag on my desk and went to work, catching up. When I picked up the camera, I decided that I liked the light from a large candle I'd just brought upstairs. I turned the lights off and thought i would just see what happens when I cranked up the ISO to 3200., and here it is.

I bought the scarf last time we were in Scotland visiting Helena's mum and some of the many sisters and brothers and aunts, uncles and cousin. This scarf is their family's tartan, the ancient hunting McIntyre, who were hereditary foresters on the slopes of Ben Cruachan. Their rent for the land was a fatted calf and a snowball on June 1st each year.

In Gaelic, the name Macintyre, or McIntyre, is rendered 'Mac an t-Saoir', meaning 'son of the carpenter'. A traditional account dates the origins of the name to the early twelfth century, when Somerled was establishing his lordship in the Western Isles.

The McIntyres living in Cladich, not far from Glen Noe near Loch Awe, were highly acclaimed for their weaving and for some time their 'Cladich Garters' (stockings) were an essential part of the Highland Dress. Helena's grandfather, John McIntyre, revived the traditional skill of weaving Cladich garter flashes in the 1950s and 60s.

My scarf has felt very comforting in the recent winds and rain.

ps
The candlelight doesn't do justice to the wonderful green and blues in the weave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.