dogwithnobrain

By dogwithnobrain

The best laid schemes o' Mice an' Men, Gang aft ag

Here he stands in a Square named after him.

I'm fair perturbed about this man and the stories about him.

In Ayrshire, there are Monuments, Statues, Pubs, Cafes and alsorts named for him.

I love his poetry. I love that he wrote what he saw and felt, maybe there's a kindred spirit there, although I'd never claim to write anywhere as beautifully and with such feeling as he does.

I remember when travelling through Mauchline, we drove past a red brick tower, with "Burns Monument", proudly decorated on it's side. "I'm confused", I said, "why are there so many Burn's Monuments, I thought he was born in Alloway, but there are Monuments to him everywhere".

My mum sat for a minute and said, "He had a lot of women. Everywhere that he had a woman, they put up a monument to remember him by. And then added with a smirk, " And when you are famous, they'll put a plaque up on the Anchorage in Troon".

Hmm. Thanks Mam!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.