Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

And now it's time to sleep

Goodnight baby
I hope you have sweet dreams
The world loves little babies
You are the world to me.


Parts I and II.

Signing Time mums will know this Rachel Coleman song so very well. This a super quick capture as Callum awoke momentarily. Part II is when he turned over.

At home with Callum this morning. I'm surprised sleep didn't happen at the end of our shower together. When Reuben arrived home from school we danced to The Strokes, Last Night, really rocking, Callum with a bare bottie, Reu transfixed with the music video.

I'm backing up my 2010 personal image library of 650GB. I guess I take quite a few pics. It's taking all day to update the Aperture Vault, ticking away now in the background and therefore I can't edit in Aperture. Annoying I've lost a few 100 images with only a preview available by inadvertently using referenced rather than managed files that sit in the library itself {sigh, boring tech details}. They were great pics. Ah, would have been an early Aperture learning mistake.

So whilst that's busy chugging away I quickly popped into PSE8 whilst the boys slept upstairs. I've been speaking with the Wedding Salon, a luxury bridal event, regarding their event at the London West Hollywood hotel where I recently had a great night out with Anne over from Sydney and upon the coordinator's review of my work she cited it as "emotional", which suits me. As a former marketer, I'm reminded of the importance of the brand, and fine tuning my niche in a busy market. What many of us create here on Blip, (our camera only takes, we make), often quite painstakingly is labour intensive art and I often think that beyond our photog communities, the work often goes unappreciated. Weddings are of course pretty new to me but I have a clear look and feel. For me it's about trying to create stunningly beautiful portraiture in a photojournalistic fashion which sounds contradictory, but really my vision for weddings is more about capturing the bride at her most beautiful ever, the luminosity of her often young and tender skin and about love. Passion. It's not about an air of feigned indifference as a current trend or the wide angles which I know are essential for the story, but which are not my forte or talent.

* * *

Please keep Reu in your thoughts. He's having a CT scan tomorrow to determine the degree of scolliosis and if surgery is needed. He's had 16 surgeries now but I'm a novice on the spine. His open heart surgery date has been left open within 3 years, but long before any heart failure sets in. Whilst it's still an horrific thought, the worst experience I would ever hope to go through, he's coping just fine for now with a tender heart. He's unlikely to be a pro sportsman like his Mama, but will need a repaired heart to participate in school sports (unlike his Mama... I was always the last to be picked).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.