The second half of life..

By twigs

Takeaways.............

Had a[nother] busy day at work - a good sort of a busy though.........the sort of busy which feels like it fits me. Still feel like I have more jobs to do than time to do them but I am at least getting to practice skills which I may have been light on in the recent past......skills like saying 'no', prioritising tasks effectively, negotiating win-wins and mediating. It feels good to be able to make a positive difference in others' lives.

Anyway, after a full day at work I had a vets appointment booked for Pudz - a free dental check-up. Free!! Ha ha!! Pudz - bless his wee furry paws - has developed pretty bad breath which I know can be symptomatic of other issues hence the dental check. He's also lost a bit of weight recently which I had put down to a bit of stress and the hot weather.

I raced home from work and managed to get him easily into the cat-cage which, once he realised where he was, began to cause him huge amounts of stress. So much so, that he peed in the cage.

The vet nurse did the dental check-up and found a couple of issues which will definitely need to be resolved and are indeed the likely cause of his bad breath. In talking about what might be causing his weight loss she mentioned that there could be a need for a urine sample. My reply was pretty quick: "Well, he just peed in the cage so you might be able to get a sample now from that!"

"Oh - ok"

.......and there began the problem. There was blood in his urine - lots :(

Now it is possible apparently, that the stress could have caused it but we will need to do more checking to find out. He immeditely had a check-up from the vet (we're now having a consultation, not a free dental check!) who was satisfied there didn't appear to be anything more sinister. However, before he can have his dental treatment we really need to get his urine problem cleared up.

He's been put on antibiotics for a few days and will have his teeth sorted on Monday.

All up cost is likely to be in the region of $600-$700.

O-U-C-H!!!!!

So - the moral of the story - beware of free dental checks. They're very expensive!!

After the drama at the vets it was oh so nice to go to my yoga class. Had another new teacher which was kind of unexpectedly good. She had a slightly different way of doing things and so I picked up a few more tips and tricks to help my own persoal yoga practice. Nice :)

On the way home I decided to indulge myself and have a Thai takeaway. This is the scene from the counter as I waited for my order to be prepared. Just before I left the woman in pink asked:

"So - did you get any good shots?"

(Clearly, my attempts to disguise the fact I was taking pictures was lousy!!)

We chatted a while and it turned out she is a photograher just returned from london and about to set up her own business here!! We chatted some more of course!

So - if you do pop in here for a look L - welcome to blip :) I don't know whether you'd consider this a 'good' shot or not, but it is certainly a good reflection of part of my day. As you can see, the focus for this particular shot was the girl behind the till - maybe easy to miss at first, but a significant part of the shot as,once you realise she's there, she keeps drawing you back in.............a bit like the vet has done to me today!!

OK - time to quit the babbling now and head to bed.

G'night

:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.