The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

It's a bust

I found myself in London today so I went to the Hunterian Museum at the College of Surgeons. I'd never been before (to be honest I didn't know it existed before the weekend) and loved it. If you're interested in what's inside various bodies as well as the history of surgery (often quite disturbing) it's a great place to visit.

The collection was made by John Hunter (most of them his own specimens) and purchased by the government in 1799. Hunter was a great teacher of surgery and an amazing collector!

The blip is of a plaster bust of John Belchier (1706-1785) and was made and painted by his mate, Louis Francois Roubiliac (1702-1762). Belchier was a member of the Court of Assistants of the Company of Surgeons from 1751-1785.

My apologies to the museum. I didn't see the No Photography sign until I was about to leave. I didn't use a flash though, so I hope that excuses me a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.