Blipper's Daily (?)

By blipper

Lomo LC-A

Thanks to a day at work filled with meetings and four seperate Telecons across multiple time zones I find myself once again having to plunder my Blipbank of photographic equipment as I have run out of time/daylight for an outside Blip.

Todays subject is the Lomo LC-A compact camera which is considerably more modern than yesterdays subject, as it dates from the mid-1980s, but still looks a bit of a dinosaur compared to modern cameras. This little baby was a real 'upgrade' for me when I got it....my first automatic camera equipped with a viewfinder display (i.e. two LEDs, one confiming sufficient power and one warning of slow shutter speed). Everything else was manual and the focusing was zone based. I was quite shocked to find that you can still buy a slightly improved version of this camera today for the rather riduculous sum of £250! You must really love Lomography to spend that much on such a simple camera these days....a similarly priced modern compact camera has a specification/feature list so long you fall asleep before you can read to the end!

I'd be tempted to sell this on eBay but the shutter is non-functioning and although I'm not adverse to a bit of DIY on photography equipment I don't think the rewards of getting it servicable again are worth the effort in this case.

PS - This new feature of being able to go back and edit your tags is great!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.