creative lenna

By creativelenna

the great white egret

Last year, when we were renting a house very near Palma Sola Bay, I often saw all manner of interesting birds. Since we have bought a home and moved closer to my parents in NW Bradenton, we are not walking distance to water anymore. I love it here but have missed the parade of wild birds walking by or flying by! I think especially because I am from Connecticut, the egrets, ibis, wood storks, great blue herons and more that live here in Florida are truly fascinating to me.

Today, while I was photographing a neighborhood cat who has made friends with me, I spied a great white egret across the street, oh! I followed that bird for quite a while. Sometimes when I would get too close he or she would simply take flight, gasp! But only to go down the street to another yard - so i followed this bird to my delight for a while.

Then again I was faced with my quandary over which photo to chose to blip! Well, I took 2 of my photos and played with them in Photoshop, resulting in an interesting outcome. I'm learning a bit about how to use a screen with a layer and having fun experimenting. If you look closely you will see not 1 great white egret but 2! I decided to go with this photo instead of any number of single great white egret photos I took, or a cat photo, or the brightly painted pots for herb plants in Walmart (gasp! I am now taking photos in stores!!)

I'm having fun! Thanks for your comments. Best Large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.