must try harder

By halfcj

Some enchanted evening.

After coming down unscathed from my not-so-ivory tower in yesterday's blip, (which was quite a late one anyway), I've had to carry on into today's blip almost straight away, because not long after, B and I were off to the cinema. Her treat! a romantic afternoon Matinée in and amongst the blue rinse brigade. In fact, there was another couple of ladies that had some colour other than blue, but no complaints, it made for a very civilised and quiet Matinée.

In fact, B had left her bank card in the machine at the supermarket as it turns out, so Muggins had to pay. I didn't know what we were going to see, but all became very clear as we entered the auditorium. It was my nemesis and her heart throb, her 'best mate' since the pair of them ran stalls at the Church summer fair and had a photograph taken together....yes, it was Colin Firth, the only man in the world who has managed to add some kind of sex appeal to that christian name. The film was the King's Speech, which I would highly recommend. Begrudgingly, Firth was superb as King George VI and Geoffrey Rush outstanding as always. However, for me, the enigma that is Helena Bonham Carter stole the show as Queen Elizabeth with an amazing and poignant performance that did our sad and recently passed Queen Mother proud.

The lovely Ramona Marquez played Princess Margaret, but somehow I could not see past her amazing role in Outnumbered, which is truely amazing television. Also Eve Best played Wallis Simpson very well...I only watch Nurse Jackie to see her! She was so funny.

We left very satisfied, a lovely afternoon spent with my lovely wife eating popcorn together whilst she tried to control her heart palpitations over the king-sized Colin Firth her eyes were able to feast upon for an hour and a half.

Ended up a good day. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.