just allan

By allan

Blending In

Gormley statue in The Water of Leith at Stockbridge, Edinburgh. This is one of the "6 Times" figures which are a permanent installation along the Water of Leith. I previously blipped the last one in the series located at the Leith Docks which I discovered by chance, and again I found this one accidentally - I was just out walking and had a peer under the arch of the bridge.

That was yesterday, when I posted a picture of a female mallard, so I rather like that a pair of mallards has made it into today's photograph. This was taken today from the other side of the bridge.

The point (I think) of Gormley's work is that it's at once alien and familiar. Seeing a familiar human figure in an unexpected place is a surprise. But over time the figure blends in. I love that the branches and rubbish swept downstream have caught on the figure. There's a Tennents beer can stuck between his legs and along with the ducks I'd say he's blending right in.

It was a beautiful day in Edinburgh today and I had a few blip candidates. Happy with this fellow though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.