Northern Exposure

By Northern

In the dog house.

My family aren't very good at birthday's. Well, that's not true... my Mum is, she remembers everyone and if she doesn't get a pressie to you, you will at least get a card.

But my brother, my Dad and me are rubbish. For starters we all have the memory of a gnat, secondly the reaction time of a giant sloth and third we all have a habit of getting engrossed in whatever we're doing to the exclusion of all else.

Today I managed to not get my mum's birthday pressie or a card to her on time. I did remember on Monday that I needed to but then Friday seemed ages away. On Tuesday, it was a little closer but I couldn't think what to get. On Wednesday I was incapable of making any decisions and on Thursday I was a prisoner inside my own head

I did get around to panicking about it around three yesterday and thought I'd send an orchid plant, only to discover that I didn't have her postcode (new house!!!) and then when I did track it down no would deliver to that area.... argh!

So this morning I called, wished my Mum a Happy Birthday and confessed. She laughed, said she was used to it and that my brother had called last night to get their new address. So nothing from him today either. My Dad did remember and got a pressie on time and was taking her out for dinner this evening, but he's got an advantage being in the same house.

We did however have a good long chat and a laugh on the phone. My boys called this evening and sang Happy Birthday in funny voices to her. So we weren't a total washout.

Thanks Mum, I know you don't read this but I'm sure the message will get to you telepathically. You are the best, we are useless but we love you.

Happy Birthday!!!!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.