Cookie monster

Reeling off the inertia of a page-turner, my approach for this book wasn't appropriate. After a dozen or so pages, it seemed to head nowhere. So I decided to slow down, tune myself to the writing, after which it becomes a smooth flow. The book prior to this was written by a scholar, but this book is a scholarly work. It was absolutely delicious and the detail and accuracy with which the subconscious process of thought has been documented makes it an absolute delight.

In a certain context, I was reminded that I have a lot of faith in my judgment of people. If I hear much praise, ridicule or criticism, I throw it aside and take time to know them my way. If I hold someone in good regard (from whatever I may have observed), no amount of criticism or rumour about them makes me change my mind, unless I observe cause for it myself. Admittedly, this is a mistake-prone path, but there lies its joy. I like beginning without preconceptions, with a clean slate. In fact that is how I approach almost everything, not just people. Though this approach is naïve, it becomes rewarding in ways that makes everything worthwhile. I think a poor memory helps me here. It's also one of the many reasons that makes me immune to and disinterested in gossip.

Baking without an oven is a compromise requires improvisation. Indian dishes do not require an oven, but it looks like high time S & I get one, since the idea of baking interests us both. We tried making chocolate-chip cookies tonight from a recipe behind the bag of Hershey's chocolate chips. It looked simple enough, especially when compared to Nigella's which as always sounded and looked delicious, but required ingredients we didn't have. While making it, the batter seemed too thick at one point and I decided milk would be a good idea! Turned out to be a mistake and we didn't get the doughy consistency of the batter we needed. Made for funny looking cookies, but with ingredients like these, one can't go wrong with the taste. With more education and better equipment, we'll be on our way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.